Future Display Exhibition Prize

The Ralph Saltzman Prize 2023

The second year of our annual prize in partnership with the Saltzman Family Foundation celebrating emerging product designers in recognition of Ralph Saltzman’s design legacy.

In honour of Ralph Saltzman

Returning to the Design Museum for a second year, The Ralph Saltzman Prize, supported by the Saltzman Family Foundation, will select and reward a winner among this year's nominees – soon to be announced.

Created by Lisa Saltzman on behalf of the Saltzman Family Foundation, The Ralph Saltzman Prize reflects the Design Museum’s overarching commitment to champion new talent and nurture the development of a vibrant design sector. Each year, a panel of design luminaries will handpick a number of the brightest emerging designers currently making waves in the field of product design. The winner, selected for their innovative approach to contemporary themes, will receive a £5,000 honorarium and will be invited to display their work in the Design Museum’s atrium space.

“This particular prize is for a product designer working in or across products, furniture, textiles or technology. We are defining ‘emerging’ as a practising designer within five years of leaving education or within five years of setting up a business. We look for people who are making a mark on product design, be it through innovation, sustainability or cultural re-evaluation.

The Design Museum strongly believes in supporting emerging designers so we are thrilled to work with The Saltzman Family Foundation to make this possible through this award.”

– Justin McGuirk, Chief Curator, the Design Museum

Ralph Saltzman

Co-Founder and President of Designtex, Saltzman's curiosity and collaborative spirit are evident in the legacy of innovation he leaves behind and in the company he founded 60 years ago. Designtex's development of sustainable textiles and the partnership that emerged between William McDonough and chemist Michael Braungart won First Prize in the International Design Sense competition at the Design Museum in 2000.

The Ralph Saltzman Prize 2022

Product and furniture designer Mac Collins was selected as last year's inaugural prize winner. Nominated designers included Alexandra Fruhstorfer, Francisco Norris, Marion Pinaffo & Raphaël Pluvinage, and Sky Lucy Young.

About the selection process

A panel of eminent designers drawn from the Design Museum’s network will handpick a number of the brightest young designers currently making waves in the field of product design.

The nominees will then be invited to present their work to a panel including the museum’s directorate and external experts who will finally select a winner for The Ralph Saltzman Prize 2023.

The winner will have their work presented at the museum from February to April.

Q&A with Lisa Saltzman, who created the Ralph Saltzman Prize in collaboration with the Design Museum

What made you want to set up this award at the Design Museum in London?
It is one of the most prestigious design museums in the world.

Why do you think an award for a designer of this level is important?
I created this prize as a legacy to my father [Ralph Saltzman]. He was an innovator and a pioneer who had a keen eye, great taste and he thought outside the box. The Ralph Saltzman Prize will be a way to give these young designers an opportunity, an honorarium and a show. It’s the best way to perpetuate my father’s legacy. Designers at this level are seasoned enough and the opportunity to take them to the next level is exciting.

How did your father, founder of Designtex, influence your design thinking?
My father's love of design permeated my life in a very significant way, my father noticed everything, everywhere... He had a very profound influence on me in so many ways, his observations, keen eye and great taste impacted me in a big way, his aesthetic and love of Design was intoxicating.

How do you think design influences our day-to-day life and why is good design important?
Design is at the core of almost all things, good design enhances users' experience and can help solve problems.

Who are or have been some of your favourite designers (past and present)?
Josef Hoffmann, Charles Eames, Marc Newson.

Visit information

Free display dates are soon to be announced. No pre-booking is needed.

Sign up to the newsletter to be the first to know about new exhibitions and events.

Background image: Furniture designed by Mac Collins, the winner of The Ralph Saltzman Prize 2022.